Film Screening

Kinds of Kindness

FRI 12 JUL - THU 25 JUL

Known for his bizarre masterpieces (The Favourite, The Lobster and Poor Things), director Yorgos Lanthimos jumps forward to the present day to paint a series of three darkly comic short films, which use the same cast.

Workshop

Screen Stories – Archive Sessions

Sat 13 Jul | 2pm - 4pm

We’ll be engaging with sequences of archive footage, creating responses, characters and telling stories to the images, guided through writing prompts, activities and conversation. These fun, active sessions are open to all backgrounds and abilities, be you a film hobbyist, a curious archivist, a creative writer, or someone with an interest in heritage & history!

Exhibition

Janet Sainsbury: The Gift of Nearness

Sat 06 Jul - Sun 01 Sep

Predominantly painting portraits of women artists and writers from the last century, Janet’s practice is driven by curiosity about the lives of others. She is fascinated by degrees of separation and, through her research, relishes uncovering fascinating links and connections between her subjects.

Film Screening

Wilding (PG)

MON 01 JUL - WED 17 JUL

At Knepp Castle in Sussex, conservation pioneers Isabella Tree and Charlie Burrell abandoned industrial farming practices and allowed nature to ‘rewild’ their 3,500-acre estate with remarkable results.

Exeter Phoenix's solar-powered cinema

Studio 74 Showing Times

Welcome to Studio 74 – the home of independent cinema in Exeter.

With a programme packed full of eye-opening documentaries, special screening events, groundbreaking new releases and unique film festivals, there has never been a better time to visit your local independent cinema.

New Band Showcase – Unplugged

Fri 02 Aug | 7.30pm - 11pm

More Details

The Doomed Edition (CTBA 18)

Surf Cinema

Fri 02 Aug | 7.30pm

More Details

Betamax

Sat 03 Aug | 7.30pm

More Details

Make an Olla: Ceramic Workshop

Sat 03 Aug | 10.30am - 4pm

More Details

Flow Dance Meditation

Sat 03 Aug | 10.30am - 11.30am

More Details

Art and Ideas – Pop, Textile and Performance Art: Marta Minujin

Mon 05 Aug | 10.30am - 4pm

More Details

Your Face My Face

Tue 06 Aug - Tue 20 Aug | 2pm - 4.30pm

More Details

Femme Fatigue

Tue 06 Aug | 7pm

More Details

Jazz at the Mermaid

Wed 07 Aug | 8pm

More Details

Sculpt-A-Selfie

Wed 07 Aug - Wed 21 Aug | 2pm - 4.30pm

More Details

Video Content Creator Workshop (Age 14-17)

Wed 07 Aug - Thu 08 Aug | 10am - 4pm

More Details

Brazzmatazz

Wed 07 Aug | 7.30pm

More Details

Experimental Drawing – All Ages

Thu 08 Aug - Thu 22 Aug | 2pm - 4.30pm

More Details

The Winter’s Tale

Sun & Moon Theatre

Thu 08 Aug - Sun 11 Aug | Various (see dates below)

More Details

Wunderhorse

Fri 09 Aug | 7pm

More Details

The Kooks Edition Double Bill (CTBA 18)

Surf Cinema

Fri 09 Aug | 7.30pm

More Details

Sanctum Sanctorium – The Darkside of the 80’s

Sat 10 Aug | doors 7.30pm

More Details

Paint Making Workshop With Art Scribe

1 Day Workshop

Sat 10 Aug | 10.30am - 4pm

More Details

Artist’s Talk: Janet Sainsbury

Sat 10 Aug | 2pm

More Details

Brickfilm: Lego Animation

2 Day Workshop

Mon 12 Aug - Tue 13 Aug | 10am - 4pm

More Details

Art & Ideas – Cubism, Expressionism and Abstract Art: Olga Blinder

Mon 12 Aug | 10.30am - 4pm

More Details