Artists Selected: Exeter Contemporary Open

Published July 8, 2015

Artists Selected: Exeter Contemporary Open

Exeter Phoenix is pleased to announce the fourteen artists who have been selected for this year’s Exeter Contemporary Open art exhibition.

Exeter Contemporary Open is a firmly established highlight of the annual visual arts calendar in the South West and has become a nationally recognised platform for the very best in exciting, emerging contemporary art.













The selection panel – which consisted of Welsh artist Sean Edwards, London based artist, writer and curator Cedar Lewisohn, Nottingham based independent curator Jennie Syson and Phoenix Gallery curator Matt Burrows – had a tough challenge to whittle down an incredibly strong body of several hundred submissions, from across the UK and overseas.

Their final shortlist of work represents some of the most exciting and engaging contemporary visual arts practice from just fourteen artists and includes work from:

Henny Acloque, Kelly Best, Jack Burton, Gordon Dalton, Dickon Drury, Jamie Holman, Daniel Sean Kelly, McGilvary White, Paul Merrick, Tom Pitt, Nina Royle, Ruaidhri Ryan, Mimei Thompson, Josephine Wood.

The exhibition itself opens with a gala preview and launch event, on Thu 10 Sep, at which time awards of £1000 and £500 will be made to the overall and additional prize winners, as well as the announcement of a new Moving Image Award.  This will offer an artist working in video further screening opportunities, outside the gallery space, in Exeter Phoenix’s newly opened digital cinema.

Find out more about Exeter Contemporary Open here >>